Move those arms On Saturdays during the summer, I enjoy giving my feet a break and my arms a workout. I paddle my bright yellow kayak down the Delaware Canal. My soles thoroughly enjoy the time off, and my upper body loves the chance to take over. The rhythmic padding is soothing. It eases my mind as I skim past weeping willows that dip to the water’s edge and grassy banks filled with purple loosestrife and butterfly bushes. When I return to my walks, I feel refreshed! Take a natural sauna I sit at my desk basking in the cool comfort of air-conditioning. Why walk in these temperatures? But my back is stiff, my creativity is blocked, and I know what a walk will do. I slip into shorts and a T-shirt, lather on sunscreen, grab my water bottle from the freezer, and ease myself into the thick heat of an August afternoon. Slowly I head for the shady side of the street. I move as effortlessly as possible, as my body adjusts to a 25-degree shift. Like a stroll through an enormous sauna, the walk frees my mind as it unkinks my muscles. It’s worth it! Just take it slowly. Get back that loving feeling Falling in love keeps me moving. No, I’m not cheating on my husband. I’m talking about feeling excited about taking a walk, going for a swim, or getting my kayak on the river. Some people think discipline is all about doing something even when you don’t really want to. That may be true for getting to the Olympics, but for everyday health and fitness, a passion for pleasureable experiences gets me out the door. To get and keep that loving feeling, you may have to switch gears from time to time; try something new, or revamp something old. Tomorrow I’m going to walk by the river with my binoculars and look for birds. Just the thought of it makes me feel great! P.S. Check with your doctor before walking on very hot days if you have a health condition such as heart disease or breathing problems.