In real life, that’s translated to more brands than I can count and my inability to make a cider selection in less than 30 stressful minutes. One reason I’m so indecisive: I want something that tastes good, but isn’t loaded with double-digit grams of sugar. Which one strikes the perfect balance? In the name of good service journalism, I decided to find out. Naturally, that meant rounding up five friends and all the cider I could get my hands on. Here’s what to pick (and pass on) based on our very scientific and professional taste test, all of which keeps sugar top of mind:PICK THESE: These rocked our taste buds and kept sugar under control.1. Commonwealth Cider Traditional Dry and Razzberet TartCalories: 140Sugar: 1 gABV: 5.5%Comments: “Dry and super refreshing, subtly fruity.” “Perfect for summer, would go well with greasy barbecue.” “Tastes champagne-y.” “Beer snobs would even like this.” “I actually don’t feel like this would give me diabetes.” 2. Harpoon CiderCalories: 140Sugar: 7 gABV: 5%Comments: “This tastes like a fermented apple should!” “Refreshing.” “Happy tart…if that makes sense.” “Pretty inoffensive, a little tart.” “I’d drink it.” MORE: Kombucha Beer: The New Craft Drink? 3. DeMunck’s Belgian Style CiderCalories: 134Sugar: 8 gABV: 5%Comments: “Nice floral notes.” “Subtle fizz and sweetness.” “Smells a little like Apple Cinnamon Cheerios.” “Tastes like fall.” 4. Samuel Smith Organic CiderCalories: Sugar:ABV:Comments: 151 9 g 5% “Good medium sweetness level.” “Nice subtle fizz.” “It has a little bit of a funky taste I can’t put my finger on…rotten, musty apple, but in a good way!” 5. Julian Hard Cider Black & Blue No available calorie or sugar count, but the brand’s website says this cider is made with only apples and 100% blackberry and blueberry juice.ABV: 6.99%Comments: “Dry to medium sweetness, and a great subtle berry flavor.” “I’d totally pair this with lemonade.” “Reminds me of summer.” “Awesome color and fruity aroma.” STILL GET A THUMBS UP: These were slightly less delicious, but certainly not the worst you can do. Sugar is in the moderate range.6. Ace Apple Hard CiderCalories: Sugar:ABV: Comments: 155 8 g5% “More appley than some of the others.” “Yeah, apple juice taste, with a hint of vinegar.” “Good flavor, but not quite enough fizz.” “Meh. Take it or leave it.” MORE: Six Cooking Tips from the Badass Host of ‘My Drunk Kitchen’ 7. Angry Orchard Hop ’n Mad AppleCalories: 160Sugar: 13 gABV: 5%Comments: “It’s like someone shook up some hibiscus tea and cider and was like, here you go!” “Major herbal scent and flavor. Really unique.” “Great initial taste, funky aftertaste.” “There are some competing flavors here, my taste buds are confused.” 8. Stella CidreCalories: 160Sugar: 14 gABV: 4.5 %Comments: “Great fizz and bite.” “Medium sweetness and good apple flavor, but slightly off aftertaste.” “Kind of like a Jolly Rancher.” 9. Out on a Limb Cheeky CherryCalories: Sugar: Comments: 20017 g"Okay, I get that this is a little high in sugar, but I would definitely drink it as a treat—it’s awesome." “Tart with a good fizz.” “Subtle maraschino cherry flavor.” PASS: Just don’t bother. Either these tasted like garbage, had insanely high sugar content, or both.10. Woodchuck Green AppleCalories: 160Sugar: 11 gABV: 5%Comments: “Oh, man, I wanted to like this, but it tastes a little like…butt? Let’s say sulfur.” “This is angry and sour.” “Makes me want to vomit a little.” “Vinegary.” 11. Magner’s Irish CiderCalories: Sugar:ABV: Comments: 150 12 g4.5%“Tastes like feet.” “I’m getting undertones of burnt hair.” “Ugh, I can’t believe I used to drink this in college.” “Weird aftertaste and bite…pass.” MORE: The Moscow Mule You Need to Make This Weekend 12. Johnny AppleseedCalories: 210Sugar: 20 gABV: 5.5%Comments: “This is like the Smirnoff Ice Green Apple of the cider world.” “Woah! Sweet.” “It has ‘flavor’ on the ingredient list…why do you need more flavor than the apples?” “Great for a frat party.” 13. Strongbow Cider GoldCalories: 172Sugar: 19 gABV: 5%Comments: “Too sweet.” “I hear they use a different recipe for the U.S. than the original U.K. version, because they think we like sugar and stuff.” “Nope.” 14. McKenzie’s Black CherryCalories: 200Sugar: 21 gABV: 5%Comments: “Straight up cough syrup.” “Cherry Coke.” “Like those old-school Luden’s cherry cough drops I used to pop like candy.” “I just got chills…in a bad way.” MORE: Toxic Diet? This Black Drink Will Cure You. 15. Ciderboys First Press Original Hard CiderCalories: 180Sugar: 24 gABV: 5%Comments: “It doesn’t even taste that sweet, but it’s packed with sugar—why would you even bother?” “I can’t even justify drinking this.” “Not bad, but I’m probably gonna get diabetes now.”