In her new book Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Won’t Stop Talking, Susan Cain dispels the negative connotations that come with being the quiet type. For starters, there’s a common misunderstanding on what “introvert” actually means. It’s not that introverts are shy or anti-social; rather, they’re energized by a different kind of stimulation than extroverts. More outgoing types feels most comfortable in a setting with many people while an introvert feels best hanging solo or engaging in a deep one-on-one conversation.   But the problems go beyond the name game: Cain points out that our culture has a habit of valuing the extrovert over the introvert in academics and professional life. For instance, schools put an emphasis on group learning activities and team brainstorming sessions have been the de-rigueur office meeting format for decades. Cain argues that  this type of environment often overvalues the traits of an “alpha personality” and subsequently ignores the subtler strengths—such as reflectiveness, persistence, and sensitivity—of the introvert. With her book, Cain aims to start a “Quiet Revolution” in which we structure our society so that all types of personalities, introverts included, are given the chance to shine. We’re all for it! Answer these questions to figure out where you lie on the introvert, extrovert spectrum:

  1. I prefer one-on-one conversations to group activities. (Yes or No) 
  2. I often prefer to express myself in writing. (Yes or No)
  3. I enjoy solitude. (Yes or No)
  4. I seem to care about wealth, fame, and status less than my peers. (Yes or No)
  5. People tell me that I’m a good listener. (Yes or No)
  6. I’m not a big risk-taker. (Yes or No)
  7. I enjoy work that allows me to “dive in” with few interruptions. (Yes or No)
  8. I like to celebrate birthdays on a small scale, with only one or two close friends or family members. (Yes or No)
  9. People describe me as “soft-spoken” or “mellow.” (Yes or No)
  10. I prefer not to show or discuss my work with others until it’s finished. (Yes or No)
  11. I tend to think before I speak. (Yes or No)
  12. I often let calls go through to voice-mail. (Yes or No) If you’ve answered “YES” to more than half the questions, you could be an introvert. (Excerpted from the book Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Won’t Stop Talking)