mornings – as well as most mornings of the week, actually! – I fuel up with a slice of toasted 100% whole grain bread and a smear of all-natural nut butter. While a sausage, egg and cheese sandwich might be convenient and quick, I find that this option keeps me satiated and doesn’t slow me down. Because all-natural nut butters tend to be pricier than their sugary, hydrogenated oil-laden counterparts, I’ve recently taken to roasting and grinding my own. It’s really not as laborious as you might think, and I’ve found that the extra effort pays off. Mixing up my own both saves money and allows me the flexibility to try out different nuts combinations and super food mix-ins, like omega-3 rich flax seeds. This roasted almond and cashew creation is my latest favorite! Makes 16 oz. Ingredients:

8 oz. raw unsalted almonds8 oz. raw unsalted cashew pieces1 tbsp. flax seed (optional)1/4 tsp. salt, or to taste

What to do:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.Place almonds and cashews on a baking sheet and roast for 15-20 minutes, tossing occasionally.Allow nuts to cool completely.Transfer the roasted nuts to the bowl of a food processor. Add flax seed, if using, and grind for 8-10 minutes. The mixture will phase through several different textures as the grinding goes on and you may need to occasionally pause to scrap down the sides of the bowl.The nut butter has finished grinding when it reaches a smooth, liquid texture with a bit of sheen. Mix in salt to taste.Transfer the nut butter to air-tight containers, such as two 8 oz. mason jars. Roasted nut butter should keep at room temperature for several weeks, or store it in the refrigerator for extended shelf life.