I’m in what Dr. Christiane Northrup calls the “transitional perimenopause period” which usually lasts five to ten years, though the entire process can sometimes take up to 13 years. She says there is typically a “gradual crescendo in the beginning, a peak as one approaches mid-transition, and a gradual decrescendo towards the end, as the body learns to live in harmony with its new hormonal and emotional milieu.” Frankly, I’m craving the decrescendo phase right now. Let’s get on with it. Yet, I’m told that it’s impossible to tell when one is finished with this lovely menopausal transition phase until it’s been a year since my last menstrual period. I thought I was 6 months closer to that, but back to square one with these flows, fits and starts. I’m not reading anywhere that I have to like it. However, when the heavy flow of it passes, I do know this phase is also filled with wonder, and what Northrup calls, “the wisdom of menopause.” Typically, we are taught to hate it (the phase I’m in today), however, at the same time I am seeing this as a phase that is bringing me to the most beautiful second half of my life and on a good day, I do feel new surges of creativity and vitality and a gentle ambition to serve my community and myself in grander ways. There are a few pauses along the way. These are the days I push pause on my emotions, and play on Netflix.