MY STORYI was 43 years old and pregnant with my first child, but what should have been the happiest time of my life was one of the scariest. At the beginning of my pregnancy, I weighed more than 200 pounds and was quickly gaining. I developed gestational diabetes, and if I didn’t get it under control, I could put my baby at risk for obesity and type 2 diabetes. I didn’t want her to have to struggle with weight like I did. This was the wake-up call that I needed. I met with a dietitian and took control of my blood sugar. The gestational diabetes was gone as soon as I delivered my beautiful baby, but I was almost 280 pounds and at risk for type 2 diabetes. I knew I had to make a change if I wanted to see my daughter graduate from college. PREVENTION INTERVENTIONBy the time Madelyn was 2, I had shed the 60 pounds I gained during my pregnancy. But at 216 pounds, I was determined to slim down and get healthy once and for all. That’s when I read about the Flat Belly Diet. Women lost weight adding dark chocolate and nuts to a well-balanced meal? Where do I sign up?  I bought the book, and it didn’t take me long to realize that fresh, healthy food was even tastier than the junk of my pre-pregnancy days. Eating four 400-calorie meals daily left me feeling satisfied. And when I needed motivation, I turned to flatbellydiet.com; it connected me with people experiencing the same thing I was. A LOTTA HELP FROM MY FRIENDS Almost daily, I was on the message boards, getting advice from other dieters. My first week I was completely overwhelmed, but then someone on the boards said, “Take a deep breath. Just do what you can, and it will be good enough.“That’s exactly what I needed to hear. Week after week, the pounds kept dropping. But the best part is that I’m teaching my daughter about good nutrition. I’m still active on the site, but these days I’m the one encouraging others. The only thing better than losing the weight is knowing I’m helping others do the same. Media Platforms Design TeamNEW fromPrevention!Get long and lean with sexy Flat Belly Yoga!

  [pagebreak] MY TOP TIPS Pick a realistic diet plan. I tried other diets where I ate less than 1,200 calories daily, but I couldn’t keep up with them. This one was the perfect fit! Prepare to succeed. Every night I planned and assembled my meals for the following day. In the morning, I just had to grab them and go–no prep work to slow me down. Measure everything! When you’re trying to lose weight, every calorie counts. Stick to correct portions or you could stall your weight loss. See beyond the scale. Relish small signs that the diet is working. Is it easier to cross your legs? Are your rings fitting better? Embrace mini challenges. I used to avoid working out, but on the diet I had much more energy. I started walking and realized exercising was easy. I just ran my first 5-K race!   Are you a success story?Log on to prevention.com/successstory to submit a 200-word synopsis and before and after photos. If we publish your story, you’ll receive $200! Learn more about the Flat Belly Diet!Get meal plans, read success stories, and more at flatbellydiet.com.