Native Americans teach their children to wake up being thankful for each new day. Their philosophy has greatly expanded my well of gratitude. I try to find something new and precious to appreciate in nature every day. Even the cycle of planting a seed, watching its progress to full bloom and then its decline to sleep beneath the earth, fills me with thanks for the privilege of being part of nature’s miracles. Elaine Hibbard wrote that gratitude is one of the great positive emotions because it creates magnetism. A magnet draws things to itself, and, therefore, giving heartfelt thanks for all the good around us makes us attract more good into our daily lives. Helen Keller said, “I thank God for my handicaps, for through them I found myself, my work, and my God.” Life’s journey is never totally smooth. We all will encounter mountains and valleys along the way, but in the hard climb up the mountain or the difficult descent into the valley, we learn life’s lessons and become stronger in character. Be grateful for the challenges you face because they help you grow, understand, and soften your heart, and they give you strength. I have found in my life that it is vital to start my day with thankfulness. I begin with exercises and affirmations every morning as I get out of bed. I look out my bedroom window to see a bronze statue of a beautiful woman lifting a child to the sky in her outstretched arms. It is here that I express my gratitude for family and friends, praying for their health and happiness. As I name each person individually, I raise my arms like the statue and enfold my loved ones in healing, kindness, purpose, safety, energy, peace, and love. Then I extend my arms to include all those in the world who are ill, grieving, stricken with AIDS, orphaned, homeless, hungry, or sad, as well as our sacred environment. When we say thank you, we open our eyes to all the miracles around us. Ramakrishna says, “The breeze of grace is always blowing on you. You have to open the sails and your boat will move forward.” And Henry Beecher said, “God’s grace is the oil that fills the lamp of love.” Grace surrounds us like the soft, comforting, refreshing rain. Let gratitude help you find the power of that grace and see all your experiences in life as blessings. May you journey in peace!