I’ve always found cooking to be more enjoyable when I get everything ready in advance. This way I’m not constantly running back and forth between my pantry and kitchen cabinets. If you cook or bake regularly, I’m sure you’ve heard the term mise en place which means “everything in its place”. It truly helps even the most seasoned cook. After looking over my recipe, I gather all the tools I need and then proceed to measure out all the ingredients.  Doing so may dirty a few more dishes but the added ease is worth it. Makes 24 cookies 2 c gluten-free oats 3/4 c oat flour 1 tsp cinnamon 1 tsp xanthan gum 1/2 tsp baking soda 1 c coconut palm sugar 1/2 c coconut oil 1 lg egg 1 tsp vanilla extract 2/3 c dried cranberries

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. In a medium bowl, mix together oats, flour, cinnamon, xanthan gum, baking soda, and ½ tsp sea salt and set aside.2. In a medium-large bowl, whisk coconut palm sugar, coconut oil, egg, and vanilla until smooth. Slowly mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients until combined. Gently fold in cranberries.4. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. With small ice cream scoop or spoon, transfer dollops of batter to baking sheet. If desired, flatten cookies slightly palm of hand or back of ice cream scoop or spoon, as cookies will only spread slightly. Bake 12 to 14 minutes and let cool before serving. NUTRITION (per cookie) 130 cal, 2 g pro, 19 g carb, 1 g fiber, 12 g sugars, 6 g fat, 4 g sat fat, 65 mg sodium MORE: Five Ways to Strip Sugar from Dessert