Side note: I’m usually not the type of person who forces herself to eat something she doesn’t like. I don’t drink coffee because it’s gross and I don’t drink alcohol because forcing down something that tastes like gasoline is never worth the pain and regret I’d feel the next morning. But I’m also poor, and I paid $8 for that tiny bag of quinoa. So come hell or high water, I was going to use that stuff. So I did what any rational personal would do: scoured Pinterest for ways to sneak quinoa into foods that wouldn’t taste like…well, quinoa. And I hit the jackpot. Apparently, a lot of people want all the nutritional benefits of quinoa without the taste. So with a bunch of new recipes in hand (well, you know, on my phone), I made my way into the kitchen. Here’s what I learned:

  1. Quinoa is an awesome alternative to white flour.The recipe: Chocolate Quinoa MuffinsFrom: Busy But Healthy Hi, my name is Kassie and I’m a chocoholic. So hiding quinoa inside this dessert was definitely not a bad choice. There’s not a hint of refined flour here, which really lets the chocolate flavor shine through. Pros: Because quinoa is so moist, these muffins hold together better than the average crumbly, flour-based version. They’re also naturally sweetened and call for coconut oil in place of butter.Con: Here’s the thing: Quinoa is sticky. So unless you spray cooking oil on your muffin wrappers, about a third of your muffins will end up in the trash. MORE: Should You Be Drinking Quinoa Instead of Eating It?
  2. Quinoa makes homemade GF bread soft and chewy.The recipe: Cheesy Garlic BreadFrom: The Wholesome Dish Refined flour is a big no-no for most clean eaters, but bread is hard to give up. Especially garlic bread. So even a halfway decent version that isn’t nutritionally empty makes for happy health nuts. Luckily this bread isn’t just halfway decent, it’s downright delicious. Pro: Because this bread comes out so soft, I was less tempted to dump a whole bag of shredded cheese on top.Con: Remember when I said quinoa is sticky? I meant really sticky. So don’t make the mistake I did and forget to spray your baking sheet with oil, or only half of your bread will make it off the tray.
  3. Quinoa gives smoothies serious staying power. Media Platforms Design Team The recipe: Quinoa and Berry SmoothieFrom: My Fussy Eater This is probably the best fruit smoothie I’ve ever made. And if I hadn’t been the one blending it, I wouldn’t have had a clue that there was quinoa in my morning drink. Berries and bananas give this smoothie natural sweetness, while Greek yogurt, almond milk, and quinoa make it a protein-packed breakfast-on-the-go. Pro: My usual breakfast smoothies leave me digging into lunch around 11 AM, but this one kept me full and satisfied for hours.Con: No matter how much you blend it, the quinoa gives this smoothie a slightly gritty texture. MORE: Takeout Makeover: Quinoa “Fried” Rice
  4. Quinoa makes for unbeatable veggie burgers.The recipe: Quinoa Sweet Potato and Walnut Veggie BurgersFrom: The Quinoa Cookbook by Maria del Mar Sacasa As a long-time vegetarian, I’ve eaten my fair share of veggie burgers. But most store-bought versions—delicious as they are—are loaded with sodium and not-so-healthy fillers, while homemade burgers usually lack a good crunch. Not the case with these guys, though. Toasted walnuts add both crunch and nutty flavor. Shitake mushrooms add meatiness. And sweet potatoes add both body and well, sweetness.   Pro: Even my veggie-burger-hating girlfriend loved these. Con: Like most homemade veggie burgers, this mixture falls apart easily, so grab a fork and plenty of napkins before digging in.
  5. Quinoa can taste like candy. The recipe: Puffed Quinoa Peanut Butter BallsFrom: Vegangela These peanut butter balls taste like they’re made with a pound of powdered sugar—which means they’re really, really good. But instead of the refined white sugar you’ll find in most peanut butter treats, these just use a little bit of honey and vanilla extract. Pro tip: Top these beauties with a drizzle of flavored dark chocolate for something extra. I used Theo’s Fair Trade Organic Dark Chili Chocolate. Pro: Thanks to the filling fiber in these treats, you’re less likely to eat them all at once.Con: Who am I kidding? There are no cons here. It’s peanut butter and chocolate. ‘Nuff said.