When I was at the market the other day, I saw dozens of gorgeous heirloom tomatoes. I wanted to take a bunch home, love them, and show off their quirky crevices and imperfect shapes. I wanted to throw a party and have them be the main event. Well, I ended up making this salad and ate it all by myself for lunch. But as I was eating it, I daydreamed about how impressive it would be to walk out with these gorgeous stacks of tomatoes as an appetizer at my next cookout. I am going to do just that, and I think you should, too. MORE: Crispy Avocado Tacos with Sriracha Beans Makes 3 to 4 stacks Pesto⅓ c pine nuts⅓ c almonds1 handful basil1 lg clove garlic5 plum tomatoes, seeded and diced¼ c olive oil Stacks3 heirloom tomatoes, sliced2 avocados, sliced1 yellow zucchini, sliced1 green zucchini, sliced2 leaves lettuce, torn10 leaves basil1 shallot, sliced thinToasted pumpkin seeds (optional)

  1. Place zucchini in bowl and season with salt. Set aside.2. Make pesto: In small pan, toast pine nuts and almonds over medium heat until lightly browned. Remove from heat and let cool. Place basil, garlic, and tomatoes into food processor and pulse several times. Add toasted nuts and pulse until roughly chopped. Add oil gradually, processing until pesto reaches desired consistency.3. Spread small amount of pesto on each serving plate. Place the largest tomato slice on top of pesto and season with salt and pepper. Continue stacking with basil, avocado, zucchini, more pesto, and 1 piece lettuce. Repeat 2 to 3 times, or until stacks reach desired height. Top with shallot and toasted pumpkin seeds (if using) and season with salt, pepper, and olive oil. Serve immediately. NUTRITION (per serving) 440 cal, 9 g pro, 22 g carb, 10 g fiber, 9 g sugars, 38 g fat, 4.5 g sat fat, 25 mg sodium