On Cancer “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself. So the only thing to really be afraid of is if you don’t go get your mammograms.” –Cynthia Nixon, on Nightline “Women have bodies designed to sustain life, but we don’t allow ourselves to be nurtured. Cancer taught me to put myself first.” –, to  Sheryl CrowAARP the Magazine “I’m stronger than I thought I was. My favorite phrase has been ‘This too shall pass.’ I now understand it really well.” –, to  Robin RobertsParade MORE: 8 Simple Ways To Significantly Lower Your Chances Of Ever Getting Cancer “I do not feel any less of a woman. I feel empowered that I made a strong choice [to get a double mastectomy] that in no way diminishes my femininity.” –, in  Angelina JolieThe New York Times On Sex “The fountain of youth, let’s see…I guess it’s exercise, healthy diet, lots of water, lots of laughter, lots of sex—yes, sex, we need that as human beings. It’s healthy, it’s natural, it’s what we are here to do!” –Cameron Diaz, to British Vogue On Exercise “I began to prioritize exercise because I realized that my happiness is tied to how I feel about myself. I want my girls to see a mother who takes care of herself, even if that means I have to get up at 4:30 so I can do a workout.” –Michelle Obama, to The Oprah Magazine “I really don’t think I need buns of steel. I’d be happy with buns of cinnamon.” –Ellen DeGeneres, on Ellen “I like what it does for my mind. If I’ve had a bad day, if I’m feeling stressed out, if I’m feeling overwhelmed—it takes it all away. It’s my antidote for everything. If I feel any sort of emotional upheaval, I go for a jog and I feel better.” –Kelly Ripa, to Good Housekeeping MORE: 31 Ways To Never Skip Another Workout On DepressionJ.K. Rowling “I have never been remotely ashamed of having been depressed. Never. What’s to be ashamed of? I went through a really rough time and I am quite proud that I got out of that.” –, in an interview with a student journalist “It’s my mission to share this with the world and to let them know that there is life on the other side of those dark times that seem so hopeless and helpless. I want to show the world that there is life—surprising, wonderful and unexpected life after [a depression] diagnosis.” –Demi Lovato, at the National Alliance on Mental Illness Annual National Convention “I take [antidepressant] medication daily and have for many years. I also try to exercise a lot, because there’s some evidence that exercise lessens the symptoms of anxiety, and I try to use the strategies that I’ve learned in cognitive behavioral therapy to cope with my illness. But it’s a chronic illness and it hasn’t gone into remission or anything for me. It’s something I live with, something that I’ve integrated into my life. And we all have to integrate stuff into our lives, whether it’s mental illness or physical disability or whatever. There is hope. There is treatment. You are not alone, and while I know the struggle feels at times completely hopeless and futile, there is a far shore for the vast majority of people, and I wish you the best.” –John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars, from his Reddit page MORE: 9 Surprising Signs Of Depression “I learned that my sadness never destroyed what was great about me. You just have to go back to that greatness, find that one little light that’s left. I’m lucky I found one little glimmer stored away.” –Lady Gaga, to Harper’s Bazaar “A [depression] diagnosis is burden enough without being burdened by secrecy and shame.” –Jane Pauley, at a luncheon for The Foundation for Mental Health “I did do therapy and antidepressants for a brief period, which helped me. Which is what therapy does: it gives you another perspective when you are so lost in your own spiral, your own bullshit. It helps. And honestly? Antidepressants help!” –Jon Hamm, to The Observer “I was unhappy and now I’m happy. Now, even when I’m having a rough day, it’s better than my best day before treatment.” –Ashley Judd, to Glamour “I can’t really speak enough about the power of meditation and self-talk and all of the things that it involves. It’s a very healing thing. They’ve done a lot of studies on it, and you know, I’m a total proponent for it.” –Roseanne Barr, on Larry King Live “There is no need to suffer silently and there is no shame in seeking help [for mental illness],” –, to Catherine Zeta-JonesPeople MORE: 8 Simple Meditations That Can Change Your Life On Infertility “If there’s anyone out there who’s trying [to beat infertility] and just losing hope, just hang in there, try every avenue. Try anything you can do because you’ll get there, you’ll end up with a family and it’s so worth it. It’s the most worth-it thing.” –Jimmy Fallon, on Today