Without a copy of Waters’ book on hand and knowing I certainly wasn’t about to trek out in the snow for any special ingredients, I set about rummaging through my kitchen to see what might best compliment my fading squash. I knew her recipe called for onions and white beans…were there greens in there? Garlic? Something acidic to brighten up the flavors? Ultimately, my finished dish hardly resembled the original Waters recipe, but I found it to be just as lovely. And please, if you make this Meatless Monday meal, don’t feel you have to follow my recipe exactly either. Switch it up and come back to let me know how it went! Ingredients:

2 tbsp. olive oil3 large cloves garlic, minced1 medium onion, cut into thin strips4 cups vegetable stock8 oz. frozen spinach or other green2 (15 oz.) cans cannellini beans, drained and rinsed1 lb. butternut squash, diced1 tbsp. chili powderSalt and freshly ground black pepper, to tasteJuice of one lemon

What to do:

Heat olive oil over medium heat in a large stock pan or Dutch oven.Add onion and sauté until translucent, about five minutes.Add garlic and sauté one minute more.Add stock, spinach, beans, butternut squash and chili powder. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer 30-45 minutes.Season with salt and pepper to taste.Stir in lemon juice just before serving.