So he’s pulled together 20 simple rules for weight loss that reflect all the above. “They aren’t easy,” he told us about his rules in a recent phone conversation. “My publisher really pushed back when I first came up with these. But after years of working with Biggest Loser contestants, I know what needs to be done when it comes to losing weight.” However, what doesn’t need to be done is working out for six hours a day as the contestants do on the ranch. “That’s unrealistic,” says Bob. “This is for people at home and nutrition is key, along with working out.” To help you with that, Bob also supplies menu plans and recipes. Just to whet your appetite, here’s an excerpt from the book that includes some of Bob’s weight loss insights followed by a recipe: SIMPLE HYDRATION TIPS

Make it your premeal policy: drink a large glass of water before every meal. No excuses.End the day with preparation for a good start to the next: put a large, full glass of water on your bedstand every night and drink it when you wake up, every morning.Get a little extra bang for your effort: mix a pitcher of water with a noncaloric vitamin and mineral supplement. I like ElectroMix (one little packet makes a quart), and having the pitcher all mixed and right in front of you will make it that much easier to pour yourself a glass when you open the fridge at every meal; I usually drink mine when I work out.

JUST HOW MUCH PROTEIN IS ENOUGH PROTEIN? The official answer is: no one really knows. The FDA says protein should be 10 percent of your total daily calories. The National Research Council says 8 percent. The National Academy of Sciences: 6 percent. I’m going to give you what we might call the Skinny Recommendation: take your weight and divide it by two—that’s how much protein you should be eating in grams every day. If you’re 200 pounds, try to get at least 100 grams. I’m not saying it’s 100 percent scientific, but more and more research shows that consumption of a high-protein diet with reduced high-carb foods results in better weight control metabolism. I’m saying it works. For me. For my clients, my contestants, and for you. THE POWER OF PREPARATION The other night I got home late from work. I was hungry and tired—two danger zones for binge eating, right? My secret saving grace? Preparation. I already had a huge bag of chopped salad ingredients in the refrigerator, so I just dropped the greens in a bowl, dressed with them with Galeo’s dressing, my favorite, and topped them with cubed chicken I’d cooked the weekend before. Then I added a lot of cut-up veggies—some cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes and red onion. Total prep time: just a couple of minutes, which is about all the bandwidth I have left at the end of a long day! If you chop and bag veggies and a protein ahead of time, you’ll be setting yourself up for success big-time. And don’t be shy about experimenting with what might seem oddball vegetables in a meal like this. Treat finding new vegetable combinations you like as an adventure! Listen to our interview with trainer Bob about his new book!  [pagebreak] CURRIED CHICKEN AND QUINOA SALAD Ingredients: 3 ounces cooked chicken breast, cooled 1/4 teaspoon curry powder 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt 1/4 cup cooked quinoa 1/4 cup chopped apple 1/2 celery stalk, green parts only, finely chopped 1 tablespoon golden raisins 2 cups chopped fresh spinach Directions:

  1. In a bowl, mix all the ingredients together except the spinach.
  2. Serve the salad over the spinach. NUTRITION INFORMATION 283 calories, 27g protein, 39g carbs, 3g fat Adapted from The Skinny Rules: The Simple, Nonnegotiable Principles for Getting to THIN by Bob Harper with Greg Critser (Ballantine Books 2012). Copyright 2012 by Bob Harper.