I write about this now because the sand has been my salvation lately as I walk the soft sand of Cocoa Beach, Florida while here with my parents. Very challenging health issues brought me here to spend quality time and help as best I can.  This “best” can happen because I take care of myself.  Walking on sand along the edge of the Atlantic ocean is major self care.  The last thing I need is compassion fatigue and completely losing myself in the sorrow of aging. It’s hard.  So I hit the sand daily and walk the beach twice a day when here.  I was thinking about how good it feels to have that sensation of sand under my feet and water from the ocean running up to meet me as I walk the beach. Sand offers resistance and it can be more demanding than pounding the pavement of concrete. I was reading that it provides strength training for my ankles and my arches. Plus it feels good to feel the sand in-between my toes.  An article in the Houston Chronicle referring to BerkeleyWellness.com stated, “when you opt for seaside walking, you can expect to use up to 50 percent more calories than you would walking at the same pace on a firmer, more stable surface.”